print('Hello, world!')

November 20, 2020
Welcome
Adrià Mitjavila on November 20, 2020

## [1] "Hello, world!"

My name is Adrià, a Biotechnologist living around computers.

How did I go from wet lab to spend most of my day in front of a screen?

I graduated in a BSc in Biotechnology where I almost didn’t learn anything of Bioinformatics, I actually thought I didn’t like it. Straight after that I coursed a MSc in Molecular Genetics and it was there where I began to discover the computational part of Biology, I fell in love immediately and, once graduated, I decided to do a MSc in Bioinformatics. A year later, while I was still coursing the master, I had the opportunity to work as a bioinformatician and I eventually started a PhD in Computational Biology.

Currently, I am working alongside wet lab scientists in an Epigenetics group while I am combining both, the MSc and the PhD.

Why am I starting this new project? There are two main reasons:

I consider divulgation as one of the main pillars of science. As scientists, it’s our duty to communicate the advances we achieve to the rest of the society since, in my opinion, knowledge belongs to humanity and not to a reduced group of people.

I actually love science communication and I believe that searching information and communicating it will give me a lot of knowledge in my own field.

What do I want to publish in this blog? In this little project I will publish about the main advances in the Bioinformatics world, as well as more basic things. Nevertheless, I have a biological background and I work along with wet lab scientist, so I won’t forget to explain the basis of other biological sciences.

If you are interested in one of these fields or you want to know more about science in general, follow me.

I may not be the best scientist in my field nor the best writer in the net, but I will do my best to publish rigorous content about what I learn and investigate. I hope you will like what I have to say and, if you want, you are invited to contribute.

Thank you for your visit.

Adrià.

comments powered by Disqus